## **ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 17 MAY 2007**

# Leader, Deputy Leader, Cabinet, Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels and Nominations for Chairman and Vice-Chairman - 2007/08

\* = Group Representative/Spokesperson

- (a) Leader Councillor Mrs D Collins (Conservative Group)
- (b) **Deputy Leader -** Councillor C Whitbread (Conservative Group)

#### (c) Other Cabinet Members (6)

Conservative Group (6): M Cohen, Mrs A Grigg, A Green, Mrs M Sartin, D Stallan, Ms S-A Stavrou.

#### (d) Allocations of Portfolios

Leader's Portfolio – Mrs D Collins Community Wellbeing – Ms S-A Stavrou Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services – C Whitbread Housing – D Stallan Environmental Protection – Mrs M Sartin Leisure and Young People – M Cohen Planning and Economic Development - Mrs A Grigg Civil Engineering and Maintenance – A Green

Assistant Portfolio Holders:

Community Wellbeing – Mrs H Harding Housing – J Wyatt Environmental Protection – Mrs A Cooper Leisure and Young People – Mrs R Gadsby Planning and Economic Development – Mrs L Wagland Civil Engineering and Maintenance – Mrs P Smith

#### (e) Cabinet Committee Memberships (not part of pro rata allocations)

#### (i) Finance and Performance Management Cabinet Committee

Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services Portfolio Holder (Chairman) Leader Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder Leisure and Young People Portfolio Holder Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder Housing Portfolio Holder

## (ii) North Weald Airfield Strategy Cabinet Committee

Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder (Chairman) Leader Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services Portfolio Holder Leisure and Young People Portfolio Holder Housing

## (iii) Top Management Structure

Leader (Chairman) Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services Portfolio Holder Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder Housing Portfolio Holder

## (f) Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels – Memberships

## (i) Licensing Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (8): K Chana, M Cohen, R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs M McEwen, P McMillan, Mrs P Smith (Vice-Chairman), J Wyatt

Independent Group (1): R Morgan

Liberal Democrats Group (3): Ms J Hedges, Mrs P K Rush, M Woollard (Chairman)

LRA Group (1): P House

BNP Group (1): T Richardson

## One vacancy

## (ii) Housing Appeals and Review Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (3): R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby (Vice-Chairman), J Wyatt (Substitutes – Mrs J Lea, B Rolfe, B Sandler)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P Rush (Chairman) (Substitute – tba)

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson (Substitute – T Farr)

## (iii) Staff Appeals Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (3): Mrs H Harding, B Rolfe, J Wyatt (Substitutes - tba)

LRA Group (1): P House (Chairman) (Substitute – J Markham)

BNP Group (1): T Farr (Vice-Chairman), (Substitute – Mrs P Richardson)

## (iv) Complaints Panel (Pool of 11 members)

Conservative Group (6): K Chana, R Church, B Rolfe, B Sandler, Mrs P Smith, Mrs L Wagland

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks (Vice-Chairman), M Woollard

LRA Group (1): K Angold-Stephens

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson (Chairman)

Independent Member (1): S Murray

#### (v) District Development Control Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (8): K Chana, M Colling, J Hart, P McMillan, B Sandler (Chairman), Mrs P Smith, H Ulkun, Mrs L Wagland **(Group representative tba)** 

Independent Group (1): J Knapman\*

Liberal Democrats Group (4): R Frankel, Mrs A Haigh, D Kelly (Vice-Chairman), M Woollard (Group representative tba)

LRA Group (1): J Markham\*

BNP Group (1): P Turpin\*

## (vi) Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members)

Conservative Group (6): D Bateman, R Church, M Colling, Mrs H Harding, J Hart, G Mohindra

Independent Group (1): R Morgan (Chairman)

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs A Haigh, D Kelly

LRA Group (1): K Angold-Stephens (Vice-Chairman)

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richarson

#### (vii) Joint Consultative Committee (9 members plus 9 staff side representatives)

Conservative Group (5): R Bassett, M Colling, Mrs D Collins, G Mohindra, C Whitbread (Chairman or Vice-Chairman)

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks, D Kelly

LRA Group (1): P House

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson

# (viii) Area Plans Sub-Committee South (21 members – all local ward councillors opting -in)

Conservative Group (9): D Bateman, K Chana, R Church, M Cohen, J Hart (Chairman), G Mohindra, B Sandler, H Ulkun, Mrs L Wagland (Vice-Chairman) (Group representative tba)

Independent Group (1): J Knapman\*

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs A Haigh, P Spencer (Group representative tba)

LRA Group (4): K Angold-Stephens, A Lee, J Markham, Mrs C Pond, (Group representative tba)

BNP Group (5): Ms S Clapp, T Farr, R Law, Mrs P Richardson\*, P Turpin

## (ix) Area Plans Sub-Committee East (19 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (10): M Colling (Chairman), Mrs D Collins, A Green, Mrs A Grigg, Mrs H Harding, Mrs M McEwen (Vice-Chairman), G Pritchard, B Rolfe, D Stallan, C Whitbread (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (7): R Frankel, Ms J Hedges, D Jacobs, D Kelly, Mrs P K Rush, Mrs J H Whitehouse, J M Whitehouse **(Group representative tba)** 

Independent Group (1): R Morgan\*

Labour (1): P Gode\*

## (x) Area Plans Sub-Committee West (14 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (13): R Bassett, Mrs A Cooper, J Demetriou, R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs J Lea, , P McMillan (Chairman), Mrs M Sartin, Mrs P Smith, Ms S-A Stavrou, A Watts, Mrs E Webster, J Wyatt (Vice-Chairman) (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P Brooks\*

#### (xi) West Essex Waste Management Joint Committee

Conservative Group: Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder Assistant Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder (Deputy)

## (xii) Leisure Management - Contract Monitoring Board (5 cross party members including Leisure and Youth Services Portfolio Holder)

Conservative Group: M Cohen Independent Group: R Morgan Liberal Democrats Group: J M Whitehouse LRA Group: A Lee BNP Group: T Richardson

## (xiii) Waste Management Contract – Appointments Panel (7 members pro-rata)

Conservative Group (4): Mrs D Collins, Mrs A Grigg, Mrs M Sartin, C Whitbread Liberal Democrats Group (1): D Kelly LRA Group (1): P House BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson